Last Chance Workout! (Saturday)

Saturday is the last day of exercise at BL. There is a hike as usual in the morning, but they give you a choice of three different hikes (Easy, medium and hard). I always choose the beach hike, (easiest) because I figure I’m in Malibu, California, I should be able to enjoy the ocean when I can. The beach hike isn’t a particularly hard hike, but it does get your heart rate up. You walk in the sand for a while, then you climb up a long flight of stairs and continue on a winding path and even get to look at some houses. (one of them supposedly belongs to Julia Roberts, I have no idea if that’s true). There is a beautiful overlook partway up that is worth the effort to get to! Once again we saw dolphins swimming – that sight never fails to thrill me. We also saw (and heard!) Sea Lions and rock climbers scaling a cliff. Lots to look at to keep your mind off hiking!

When we returned to BL, we had just enough time to get ready for the Last Chance Workout. They changed this workout recently because of the hot weather. They usually have a circuit workout in a field on the BL property but changed that to a mini triathlon. Just the word triathlon gave me an anxiety attack, but I kept reminding myself that it wasn’t going to be as intense as an actual triathlon, or even a sprint triathlon (which Rick has done).

The BL triathlon consists of 20 laps in the pool, 8 miles on a spin bike, and 1.5 miles on a treadmill. I have never done any of those things, let alone all in a row without resting, let alone after a six mile hike. I was so, so, scared. The only reassuring thing was that I was at BL so I knew it would be okay. If I really couldn’t physically do it, nothing bad was going to happen to me. I knew I was safe – surrounded by people I knew and trusted. Originally I was going to skip the swimming section. I am an awful swimmer. I mean really awful! I know how to do the strokes, but I’m really slow. The staff allowed us to skip one of the events, but if we did we had to increase the distance on one of the other ones. That option didn’t really sound much better to me – how was I going to add miles on the spin bike when I already doubted I could make the eight I was already doing?! I went to the sign up sheet (you could choose the order you wanted to do the events in) and signed up to do the bike and 2 rounds on the treadmill. During dinner on Friday night one of my friends, Alex, gave me a pep talk and told me she really thought I’d be able to do the swimming, and she really thought I should try, because how would I know whether I could do it if I didn’t even try? She asked “what’s the worst thing that could happen?”. If I had a slower time than everyone else, who would know or care? They don’t do the triathlon as a contest, where they declare a winner, they just use it as a challenge, to push people even farther than they’ve already been pushed. Alex was right, so I went back to the board and added the swimming section. I decided I was going to do this, even if I was the last one to finish of all the 68 people there! (and I believed that was a possibility!).

My friends decided to do the three events in the actual order of a triathlon (mainly because Alex is doing one this Fall. She’s 22 years old and in really good shape). I regretted that decision….nothing like getting on a spin bike soaking wet…We started with the swim. I varied my strokes to save myself from drowning. (no joke!) I did all twenty laps, and I could hardly believe it when finished! I hopped out of the pool, quickly threw on a pair of shorts and a tank top over my wet bathing suit, and ran to the gym. I hopped on a spin bike and pedaled about ten times and thought “there is NO way I’m going to do this for eight miles! I’m not going to make it to one! My legs were killing me! And the pain in my legs was nothing compared to the pain elsewhere! There is nothing, in my opinion, more uncomfortable than a spin bike seat. At BL they call them your “sit bones”. I’m sure there is a technical name for them, but you know what I’m talking about. OUCH! The girl next to me told me to try standing up. No. I tried and that made it harder on my legs. I put my towel over the mileage gauge and tried to just listen to the music and go to my happy place. That is hard to do when your sit bones are screaming in pain and your legs are screaming louder. It took a while, but eventually the gauge did reach eight miles. I jumped off that wretched bike and realized I was basically numb from my hips to my knees (and not numb: as in having no feeling, but numb: as in tingly and weird, like when you hit your funny bone). I literally hobbled to the other gym, where the treadmills were. I was trying to think about how far 1.5 miles was. I was picturing my neighborhood. Our blocks in Arizona are each one mile long. I figured that 1.5 miles was the same as going from Dobson Road to Price Road, then halfway back. That didn’t seem too far! Of course, I had now done 20 laps in the pool and biked eight miles, and this was going to make a difference! I jumped on the treadmill and started on my little trip, repeating to myself “1.5 miles isn’t that far!” over and over. I quickly realized that 1.5 miles was far -for me! My legs were dead. They also hurt. My butt hurt, my arms hurt, everything but my hair hurt. I could hear different people saying “Good job, Kathy!” and “Keep going, you’ve got this!” but I was really struggling. There was no way I was going to quit now, though! I was going to finish this thing! And I did! The gauge hit 1.5 and I thought “I’m done! The week is over! I can get off this stupid treadmill and not get back on! I can rest for the whole afternoon! What’s for lunch?”

1 Response to “Last Chance Workout! (Saturday)”


  1. 1 Joni Judge August 21, 2012 at 2:27 pm

    Good Job, Dear Daughter!!! You should be SO proud! – – – and NOW — make plans for a “reunion” with your friends – at a posh Arizona resort , for the next one! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

Archives


