I Met a Real Hero Today!

Tuesday’s Menu:

Breakfast – Parfait with granola, Greek yogurt and berries, mixed fruit – 326 calories

Lunch – Quinoa lettuce wraps, sunchoke soup – 369 calories

Dinner – BBQ Chicken Sandwich, mixed vegetables – 366 calories

Dessert – Orange sections with chocolate drizzle – ? calories (sorry, I forgot)

Total calories for the day – 1,06? (sorry – it was 1 thousand sixty something)

When I attended BL camp last year my hardest day was Tuesday, so I was a bit apprehensive when I woke up today, wondering how I was going to fare.  I woke up feeling very stiff and sore and the thought of getting through as much activity today as I had done yesterday was daunting.  Five more days of hiking stretched out in front of me and I already felt exhausted.

  I have vivid memories of some of my hiking experiences from last year and they are difficult to even think about-  that’s how hard the hikes are.  There are a lot of mountains here and I think we climbed most of them.  As I said last year, it also seems like the hikes are almost all uphill!  (I know that’s impossible, I’m just telling you how I perceive them.  It’s my blog.  Write your own if you want to be scientifically correct!)  After breakfast  (which was delicious, by the way!) they told us what hiking groups they we were in.  I was put in group 5. Even this minor thing was stressing me out because I have this fear of being a pain in the neck and bothering people.  I don’t want to hike with a group that is way more fit than me, because if I have to walk slower than everyone else I will feel horrible.  The staff here always stresses that the activities are to be done at your own pace – especially the hikes.  But I can’t help it, I want to be unobtrusive and not annoying.  It really mattered to me what group I was put in!  That turned out fine – our whole group seems to be similar in ability, so it made the hike really nice.  The hike was similar to Monday’s hike in that it had a good balance of ups and downs.  There were a few spots that were a challenge but for the most part I was able to get through them without too much trouble.  Knowing what this week was going to entail, I had done a lot of cardio at the gym with the treadmill on the hill setting,  and I can feel a big difference in my hiking ability this year compared to last year.  My trainers (Devan and Brandon) also helped with this by increasing my cardio during our workouts.  Thanks, you two!  Total steps for the hike – 13,000! (around 5 miles)

   We returned to the ranch and immediately it was time for our first class of the day.  This year is a bit different in that we get to choose our first class from 3 options.  I was feeling really, really, sore so decided to go to the stretch class.  I am so glad I did!  The instructor took us through a whole session with foam rollers – rolling out sore spots on our bodies.  It hurt like crazy but I felt a big improvement afterwards!

Next it was time for lunch.  I like the meals.  They are way better than the exercising.  Have I said that already??? As I said, lunch was quinoa lettuce wraps.  I know what you’re thinking!  But you are wrong!  Quinoa lettuce wraps are awesome!  (especially after hiking for 2.5 hours!)  The wraps consisted of quinoa –  (if you’ve never tried quinoa you should – its a grain that is high in protein and very easy to prepare and has lots of applications – you can eat it as a cereal, serve it as a cold salad, as a hot side dish, like rice – you name it.  It doesn’t have a lot of flavor, like most starches, but you can spice it up any way you want and it is very tasty.)  They cooked the quinoa in chicken stock and then added shredded carrots, ground turkey, dried cranberries and lots of good seasonings.  They served that mixture on lettuce leaves and then drizzled hoisin sauce on top.  SO GOOD!!! (I know exactly how they made them because after lunch the chef did a cooking demo. and that is what he cooked.)

Earlier in the day they had told us that we were going to have a very special guest.  I was really curious to find out who it was.  I was imagining one of the trainers from the t.v. show, or maybe one of the winners from the show.  They began by playing a video – it was from an episode of 60 Minutes.  As soon as the  clip started I recognized the man in the story.  That’s because he is one of my fellow campers!  Here was a guy I’ve talked to, taken a pool class with, chatted with on the way to our rooms – and he was in living color on 60 minutes.  His name is Dakota Meyer and he is the first living Marine to win the Medal of Honor in 38 years.  He told us his story and I realized I was in the presence of a real hero.  (Google Dakota Meyer and you will see what I’m talking about.)  What a great young man.  He has been through so much.  He is also 23 years old…. I have to tell you, I felt a lot less like complaining after hearing Dakota’s story. He got a very well deserved standing ovation from the whole group.  He deserved it!

Every day after lunch we have a lecture.  The topics vary – nutrition, eating out, Emotional Eating – and they are all really informative and practical.  

My 2:30 class was Cardio Intervals. You choose a piece of cardio equipment (treadmill, elliptical, stationary bike) and start at a moderate level. After 2 minutes you bump the level up (either speed or resistance). You do that several times (I honestly can’t remember how many, my brain is fried) and then do the opposite, working your way back down to your original level.  

3:30 – Total Toning.  This sounds easy but really wasn’t.  This class consisted of 8 circuits. You went around the gym and did different exercises at each circuit.  These alternated between strength and cardio. (We did planks, step ups onto a box, Russian twists with a medicine ball – all kinds of fun stuff. We repeated the circuits twice.

4:30  Pool class. This was pretty much a repeat of Monday’s pool class. Swim some laps.  Swallow a few gallons of water.  Try not to drown. Repeat.  Loved it. Add sunburn, water in my ears, water in my nose, water everywhere.  That was pool class! 

Finally, at 5:30 came dinner, which also means the end of the day!  This means NO MORE EXERCISE.  That’s always a very happy moment.  Dessert was orange sections with chocolate drizzled on them. It was hilarious seeing everyone try to scrape every tiny morsel of chocolate off their plates!  (Of course I didn’t…)(Ha!)

I had a massage scheduled for 8:00 Tuesday night and I don’t think I’ve ever been happier or more excited for a massage.  It was a combination of deep tissue and swedish and it was pure heaven!  She did a great job and I noticed a huge difference afterwards.

They seem to have fixed the internet issues at the resort, so hopefully at some point I will catch up on my posts.  Thanks for reading  – it makes me feel good to vent in writing!  

                 

2 Responses to “I Met a Real Hero Today!”


  1. 1 Sarah June 7, 2012 at 8:57 pm

    Yaaay! And I love quinoa. Noticed you didn’t mention anything about loving sunchokes. What on earth is a sunchoke? It sounds… prickly. I’m sure if I ate one I would cough. Am i right? 🙂

  2. 2 Joni Judge June 8, 2012 at 3:11 am

    Great writing! GReat to “read all about it” !!! Thanks Kathy!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

Archives


