Monday – I Survived Day One!PP

Hi everyone!

I had intended to blog at the end of each day,  but they were having internet problems all day yesterday.  I am going to attempt to catch up tonight and do Monday and Tuesday’s posts but I am really tired so I’m not making any guarantees.  We start our days here at 7:00 am and literally keep going until 7:00 pm.  Everything we want to do has to be done after 7:00, and with the amount of activity we are doing sleep is a priority too.  Eventually I will catch up!

MONDAY’S MENU

Breakfast – Bacon and Egg sandwich, mixed fruit – 289 calories

Lunch – Tilapia Taco’s, mixed salad, tomato soup – 486 calories

Dinner – Chicken, Sweet Potato Puree, Asparagus – 369 calories

Dessert – Pineapple Sorbet – 31 calories

Total calories for Monday – 1,175

One of the keys of BLFR is their hiking program.  Every day starts with a long hike, which burns a ton of calories.  On Monday they do an assessment hike.  Everyone is put in a random group for the day’s hike and the hiking guides assess your performance so they can place you in the permanent hiking group you’ll be in for the rest of the week. The idea is to put similar hikers into groups so nobody is stuck slowing down for slower hikers or feeling pressured because everyone in their group is really fast.  Our hike on Monday was called Newton Creek.  It was 6.5 miles!  It wasn’t too grueling – it had a good balance of ups and downs so I never felt like giving up (at least not too many times….) It was a cool, overcast day so it was perfect for hiking.  I am wearing a Fitbit (an electronic device that measures daily steps taken, calories burned, floors climbed {if you go up a mountain it translates it into ‘floors’ – equivalent to how many flights of stairs you climbed}.  I’m also wearing a standard heart rate monitor, which tells me my heart rate and calories burned.  I know that’s a little fanatical, but after coming here last year I was really curious to know just how much work I did.)  After the 6.5 mile hike on Monday I had walked 15,638 steps and burned between 1000 and 1400 calories (depending on which device you trust- I figure it’s somewhere in the middle.)

After hiking we returned to camp and went straight to a class.  They changed it this year and you now have a choice for your class after the hike.  I chose the Pool Class.  When the class ended I seriously wished I hadn’t gone to it, it was torture.  It involved a lot of actual swimming – doing laps.  I gulped several gallons of water and came close to drowning several times.  I can’t wear my Fitbit in the pool but according to my heart rate monitor I burned 273 calories.  (totally not worth it for the amount of agony).  When the Pool class ended we had 15 minutes to get to our next class, which was a Circuit class.  That class is held in the gym and you rotate around alternating between cardio machines and weight and weight machine stations.  You do 2 minutes of cardio, then 2 minutes of weights.  During that class I burned 410 calories.

1 Response to “Monday – I Survived Day One!PP”


  1. 1 Sarah June 7, 2012 at 10:29 pm

    curious about what type of bread they used for the bacon and egg sandwich. and is it turkey bacon?


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

Archives


